FEM Simulation
FEM simulation made by experts: we master the precise calculation of forming processes




At GMT, FEM simulation for your metal forming process is in the best hands





We have been specialized in FEM simulation of metal forming processes for many years and are the ideal partner for the FEM simulation of your metal forming process. In the metal industry, we can precisely map and calculate a wide variety of forming processes and heat treatments by using FEM simulation.

Within our service regarding the simulation of forming processes we support you individually and confidentiality with the realistic simulation of your process. Our in-depth expertise enables our clients to achieve outstanding simulation results. Furthermore, we transmit our specialist knowledge in individual training courses.
GMT Berlin
Open die forging

Hammer forging, mechanical press forging, radial forging, ring forging
FEM simulation open die forging process
Closed die forging

Hammer forging, mechanical press forging, closed die forging, flashless forging
FEM simulation closed die forging process
Flat rolling

Slab, ingot, heavy plates, sheets
FEM simulation flat rolling process
Sheet forming

Sheet rolling, deep drawing / cupping, cold rolling, bending, edging
FEM simulation sheet forming
Longitudinal rolling

Wire, bar, caliber, rail, profiles, reversing rolling, tube rolling (seamless pipes), straightening
FEM simulation longitudinal rolling process
Bulk cold forming process

Transverse rolling, thread rolling, gear rolling, ball, cross-wedge rolling, orbital forming, reducer rolling
FEM simulation transverse rolling process
Ring rolling and wheel rolling

Wheel tires, bearing rings
FEM simulation wheel forming
Cross rolling / skew rolling

Rod, tube, cross-roll piercing
FEM simulation cross rolling process
Extrusion processes

Aluminum profiles, calculcation with extrusion dies
FEM simulation extrusion process
Heat treatment

Heating, tempering, hardening, cooling, annealing treatments
FEM simulation heat treatment process
The unique selling points of our FEM service
✔ Get a complete FEM simulation of your forming process from experts.
✔ Save investment costs and training in extensive FEM packages.
✔ Also benefit from our know-how in forming technology and materials and receive recommendations on your process.


Do not hesitate to ask us!
1. Which process and which alloy do you want to simulate? We may ask you questions about the geometry and other boundary conditions.
2. You receive a non-binding offer.
3. We perform a comprehensive analysis of your process and material and ask for individual process parameters. Our expert prepares the forming simulation on the basis of these data. You receive the first results.
4. With your approval, the FEM simulation is carried out. If necessary, we will ask further questions for a detailed mapping of your forming process.
5. You receive the FEM results and individual recommendations for your forming process / material.


Confidentiality
The protection of your knowledge is fundamental for us. You can be sure that we will treat any information transmitted to us with the strictest confidentiality. We can also arrange a non-disclosure agreement.
Request FEM simulation now!
✓ Our offer is non-binding
✓ Personally created by our experts
✓ Free-of-charge for you

Simulation packages for forming processes and heat treatments

For the FEM simulation of your process, we use our unique FEM simulation packages QForm UK and QForm UK Extrusion. We also support you with the initial setup of your project in QForm UK. Hereby, we enable you to adapt your project to a wide variety of requirements on your own.
FEM Software QForm UK
What is FEM simulation?
FEM simulation is based on the application and visualization of numerical methods within the framework of the finite element method (i. e. FEM). Thus, process or material adaptations can be simulated in advance and checked for their feasibility or upcoming optimizations. In addition, practical tests can be saved by FEM simulation. The majority of all forming processes from the most diverse fields of forming technology and heat treatment processes can be calculated by applying many different factors - that is what makes FEM simulation particularly relevant.
Why is FEM simulation carried out in forming technology?
FEM simulation helps to realistically map many different metal forming processes. Thus, process or material adaptations can be made in advance and checked for their feasibility or upcoming optimizations. The finite element method simulation reduces the time and money needed for tests and thus leads to savings in terms of material and tool costs as well as development times.

The forming simulation of an industrial process within the framework of an FEM simulation can be used for practical evaluation and answers the following questions, for example:

• Is it possible to produce a new alloy with the existing facilities?
• Will the use of a new roll lead to a better result in terms of power and work needs or regarding the material properties?
• Which difficulties lie in new processing methods?

If errors have occurred in new products, these processes, which are difficult to measure or recognize in the course of the process, can be precisely retraced with FEM simulation. Taking into account the results from the forming simulation, processes, material flows, temperature distributions, etc. inside the components can be better evaluated and optimized.

If there is heavy wear or even failure of the newly used tools, FEM simulation can be used to understand the influence of deformation on the tool (loads, friction, temperatures, etc.); and the tools or the forming process can be adapted in such a way that the tools are stressed within the optimum range. To answer these questions, it is obligatory that the FEM simulation presents realistic results.
Where is FEM simulation in the field of metal forming used?
FEM simulation is used to analyze numerous forming processes and heat treatments and is a common tool in simulating forming technologies in the metalworking industry. When used correctly, forming simulation results can reliably map processes and calculate the resulting product properties.

FEM simulation is used in manifold areas of the metalworking industry for process capacity planning, design of tools (die forging, for example), selection of suitable units / presses, checking of mold filling in die forging, checking of achievable microstructure with selected tools / deformation conditions in a component (e. g. turbine blades) and error analysis. FEM simulation is also increasingly used in additive manufacturing.

Furthermore, heating and cooling processes can also be simulated realistically. Thus, it is also possible to simulate complete cycles of a heat treatment within the FEM simulation.
Why is GMT the ideal partner for FEM simulation?
GMT unites the core competences for a successful implementation of an FEM simulation. We do not just produce colorful pictures, but extensively evaluate the FEM results. It is an integral part of our activities based on our long-standing experience with various forming processes, extensive knowledge of materials and available material characteristics. Our service is rounded off by the practical work of our employees in industrial environment.

Would you like to have an FEM simulation by order or as a service? GMT has extensive know-how to use the FEM simulation package developed by QForm UK. We would be pleased to assess whether your question can be realistically mapped in an FEM simulation and would then take over the complete implementation and evaluation. By using the existing process and material knowledge as well as the material database MatILDa, the material characteristics can be entered precisely and realistic results can be achieved. Your FEM simulation is in the best hands at GMT.
GMT’s experience in FEM simulation
GMT offers the FEM simulation of forming processes. We are experts in mapping many metal forming processes and in determining the material flow.

Forging processes / bulk forming process
• Open die forging, i. e. hammer forging, mechanical press forging, radial forging, ring forging of forged parts, forging of large shafts
• Die forging, i. e. hammer forging, mechanical press forging, closed die forging, flashless forging of forging pieces in the automotive or aerospace industry

Hot rolling processes
• Flat rolling of slab, ingot, heavy plates, sheets in hot forming and semi-hot forming
• Longitudinal rolling of wire, bar, caliber, rail, profiles, reversing rolling, tube rolling (seamless pipes), straightening in hot forming, semi-hot forming or cold rolling

• Sheet metal forming like sheet rolling, deep drawing / cupping, cold rolling, bending, edging with cold forming

• Bulk cold forming process like transverse rolling, thread rolling, gear rolling, ball, cross-wedge rolling, orbital forming, reducer rolling i. e. for the production of fasteners, screws, shaped parts

• Ring rolling and wheel rolling i. e. for the production of wheel tires or bearing rings

• Cross rolling or skew rolling of rod or tube, cross-roll piercing

• Extrusion simulation for extrusion processes of aluminum profiles, calculation with extrusion dies

• Various heat treatment processes, hardening processes like heating, tempering, hardening, cooling, annealing treatments

• Microstructure calculations

GMT offers this service for simulation in the area of plastic forming. The tools are also taken into account with regard to the forming process. Other metal forming processes can be mapped using FEM simulation. Feel free to contact us!
Why is accurate, reliable forming simulation important?
By using exact, realistic FEM simulation, processes can be configured - without causing additional costs for tests. Therefore, reliable mapping of your process chain by FEM simulation is crucial.

FEM Simulation
FEM-Simulation von Experten: wir beherrschen die exakte Berechnung von Umformprozessen




Die FEM-Simulation für Ihren Umformprozess metallischer Werkstoffe ist bei uns in den richtigen Händen!





Wir sind seit vielen Jahren auf die FEM-Simulation von Umformprozessen metallischer Werkstoffe spezialisiert und Ihr idealer Partner für die Umformsimulation Ihres Prozesses. In der Metallbranche können wir verschiedenste Umformprozesse und Wärmebehandlungsverfahren mit Hilfe der FEM Simulation exakt abbilden und berechnen.

Im Rahmen unserer Dienstleistung zur Umformsimulation unterstützen wir Sie individuell und unter strenger Geheimhaltung bei der realitätsnahen Simulation Ihres Prozesses. Mit Hilfe unserer tiefgreifenden Expertise erhalten unsere Kunden herausragende Simulationsergebnisse. Darüber hinaus vermitteln wir unser Fachwissen im Rahmen von individuellen Schulungen.
GMT Berlin
Freiformschmieden

Hammerschmieden, Schmiedepressen, Rundschmieden
FEM Simulation Freiformschmieden
Gesenkschmieden

Hammerschmieden, Schmiedepressen
FEM Simulation Gesenkschmieden
Flachwalzen

Bramme, Block, Grobbleche, Bleche
FEM Simulation Flachwalzen
Blechumformung

Tiefziehen, Kaltwalzen, Biegen, Kanten
FEM Simulation Blechumformung
Längswalzen

Draht, Stab, Kaliber, Schiene, Profile, reversierendes Walzen, Rohrwalzen (nahtlos), Richten
FEM Simulation Längswalzen
Massive Kaltwalzprozesse

Querwalzen, Gewindewalzen, Walzen von Verzahnungen, Kugel
FEM Simulation Querwalzen
Ringwalzen / Radwalzen

Radreifen, Lagerringe
FEM Simulation Radwalzen
Schrägwalzen

Stab, Rohr
FEM Simulation Schrägwalzen
Strangpressen

Aluprofile, Strangpresswerkzeuge
FEM Simulation Strangpressen / Extrusion
Wärmebehandlung

Erwärmung, Anlassen, Härten, Abkühlung, Glühbehandlungen
FEM Simulation Wärmebehandlung

Die Alleinstellungsmerkmale unserer Dienstleistung FEM-Simulation

✔ Erhalten Sie eine vollständige FEM-Simulation ihres Umformprozesses von Experten.
✔ Sparen Sie sich die Investitionskosten und die Einarbeitung in umfangreiche FEM-Pakete.
✔ Profitieren Sie auch von unserem Umformtechnik- und Werkstoff-Know-How und erhalten Sie Empfehlungen zu Ihrem Prozess.


Fragen Sie uns an!
1. Welchen Prozess und welche Legierung möchten Sie simulieren? Eventuell stellen wir Rückfragen zur Geometrie und zu weiteren Randbedingungen.
2. Sie erhalten ein unverbindliches Angebot.
3. Wir führen eine umfangreiche Analyse Ihres Prozesses und Werkstoffes durch und erfragen individuelle Prozesskennwerte. Unser Experte stellt auf deren Basis die Umformsimulation zusammen. Sie erhalten die ersten Ergebnisse.
4. Mit Ihrer Zustimmung wird die FEM-Simulation ausgeführt. Eventuell stellen wir weitere Rückfragen für eine detailgenaue Abbildung Ihres Umformprozesses.
5. Sie erhalten die FEM-Ergebnisse und individuelle Empfehlungen für Ihren Umformprozess / Werkstoff.


Geheimhaltung
Der Schutz Ihres Wissens ist für uns von grundlegender Bedeutung. Sie können sicher sein, dass wir alle uns übermittelten Informationen streng vertraulich behandeln. Gern können wir uns auch zu einer Geheimhaltungsvereinbarung austauschen.
Jetzt kostenlos FEM-Simulation anfragen
✓ unser Angebot ist unverbindlich
✓ persönlich von unseren Experten erstellt
✓ für Sie kostenlos

Softwarepakete für die Umformsimulation

Für die FEM-Simulation Ihres Prozesses nutzen wir die einzigartigen FEM-Pakete QForm UK sowie QForm UK Extrusion. Wir unterstützen Sie auch bei der initialen Aufstellung Ihres Projektes in QForm UK. So ermöglichen wir es Ihnen, Ihr Projekt im Anschluss auf die verschiedensten Anforderungen vollkommen selbstständig anpassen zu können.
FEM Software QForm UK

Was ist FEM-Simulation?

Die FEM-Simulation beruht auf der Anwendung numerischer Verfahren im Rahmen der Finiten Elemente Methode und deren Visualisierung. Somit können prozess- oder werkstoffseitige Anpassungen schon im Vorfeld nachgestellt und auf Ihre Machbarkeit oder bevorstehende Optimierungen geprüft werden. Außerdem können durch FEM Simulation praktische Versuche eingespart werden. Es können der Großteil aller Umformprozesse und Wärmebehandlungen aus den verschiedensten Fachrichtungen der Umformtechnik mit einer Vielzahl von unterschiedlichsten Einflussfaktoren berechnet werden – das ist es, was die FEM-Simulation besonders relevant macht.

Warum wird FEM Simulation in der Umformtechnik durchgeführt?

Mit Hilfe der FEM Simulation können verschiedenste Prozesse der Umformtechnik realitätsnah abgebildet werden. Somit können prozess- oder werkstoffseitige Anpassungen schon im Vorfeld nachgestellt und auf Ihre Machbarkeit oder bevorstehende Optimierungen geprüft werden. Mit der Reduzierung des Versuchsaufwands durch die Finite Elemente Methode Simulation gehen Ersparnisse hinsichtlich des Material- und Werkzeugaufwands sowie verkürzte Entwicklungszeiten einher.
Die Umformsimulation eines Industrieprozesses im Rahmen einer FEM-Simulation kann zu einer praxisnahen Beurteilung herangezogen werden, und beispielsweise folgende Fragestellungen beantworten:

• Ist die Herstellung einer neuen Legierung mit den vorhandenen Anlagen möglich?
• Wird der Einsatz einer neuen Walze zu einem besseren Ergebnis hinsichtlich Kraft- und Arbeitsbedarf oder auch der Werkstoffeigenschaften führen?
• Welche Schwierigkeiten liegen in neuen Verarbeitungsmethoden?

Sind bei neuen Produkten Fehler aufgetreten, können mit Hilfe der FEM-Simulation diese Prozesse genau nachvollzogen werden, die im realen Prozess nur schwierig zu Messen oder Erkennen sind. Unter Berücksichtigung der Ergebnisse aus der FEM-Simulation können Abläufe, Materialflüsse, Temperaturverteilungen usw. im Inneren der Bauteile besser bewertet und optimiert werden. Kommt es bei den neu eingesetzten Werkzeugen zu starkem Verschleiß oder gar zum Versagen, können mit der FEM Simulation die Einflüsse der Umformung auf das Werkzeug (Belastungen, Reibung, Temperaturen usw.) nachvollzogen werden und die Werkzeuge oder der Umformprozess so angepasst werden, dass die Beanspruchung der Werkzeuge im optimalen Bereich erfolgt. Zur Beantwortung dieser Fragen ist es zwingend erforderlich, dass die FEM-Simulation realitätsnahe Ergebnisse präsentiert.
Wo wird FEM-Simulation in der Umformtechnik genutzt?
Die FEM-Simulation wird für die Analyse zahlreicher Umformprozesse und Wärmebehandlungen eingesetzt und ist heutzutage ein gängiges Werkzeug zur Umformsimulation in der metallverarbeitenden Industrie. In der richtigen Anwendung können FEM-Simulationsergebnisse zuverlässig Umformprozesse und Wärmebehandlungen abbilden und die entstehenden Eigenschaften von Produkten berechnen.

Die FEM-Simulation wird in den vielfältigsten Bereichen der metallverarbeitenden Industrie genutzt: für die Prozessauslegung, die Auslegung von Werkzeugen (Gesenkschmieden zum Beispiel), die Auswahl von passenden Aggregaten / Pressen, zur Überprüfung der Formfüllung beim Gesenkschmieden oder der erzielbaren Mikrostruktur mit ausgewählten Umformwerkzeugen / Umformbedingungen in einem Bauteil (z. B. bei Turbinenschaufeln) sowie der Fehleranalyse. Zunehmend kommt die FEM-Simulation auch bei der additiven Fertigung zur Anwendung.

Auch Erwärmungs- und Abkühlprozesse können im Rahmen einer Wärmebehandlungssimulation realitätsnah abgebildet werden. So ist es auch möglich, komplette Zyklen einer Wärmebehandlung im Rahmen einer FEM Simulation zu simulieren.
Warum ist die GMT mbH der ideale Anbieter für FEM-Simulation?
Weil bei der GMT die Kernkompetenzen für die erfolgreiche Umsetzung einer FEM-Simulation vereint werden. Aufgrund unserer jahrelangen Tätigkeit mit verschiedenen Umformprozessen, dem umfangreichen Werkstoffwissen nebst vorliegenden Materialkenndaten wie auch dem Einsatz unserer Mitarbeiter im industriellen Umfeld produzieren wir mehr als nur bunte Bilder.

Gern schätzen unsere Experten vorab für Sie ein, ob ihre Fragestellung im Rahmen einer FEM-Simulation realistisch abbildbar ist und übernehmen dann die komplette Realisierung. Eine kompetente und umfangreiche Bewertung der FEM-Ergebnisse ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil unserer Dienstleistung.

Sie möchten eine FEM-Simulation im Auftrag bzw. als Dienstleistung durchführen lassen? Bei der GMT liegt ein umfangreiches Know-how für den Einsatz der FEM-Simulationspakete von QForm UK vor. Mit Hilfe des vorhandenen Prozess- und Materialwissens und der Materialdatenbank MatILDa können die Werkstoffeigenschaften sehr genau eingebracht und realitätsnahe Ergebnisse erzielt werden. Ihr Auftrag ist bei uns in den richtigen Händen!
Welche sind die Erfahrungswerte der GMT mbH im Bereich FEM-Simulation?
Die GMT kann als Anbieter von FEM-Simulation mit der Berechnung Ihres Umformprozesses beauftragt werden. Wir sind Experten für die Abbildung vieler Umformverfahren von Metallen und bei der Bestimmung des Materialflusses sowohl im Bereich der Warmumformung als auch der Kaltumformung. Die folgenden Umformprozesse umfasst unsere Dienstleistung der Umformsimulation:

Schmiedeprozesse
• Freiformschmieden in Form von Hammerschmieden, Rundschmieden, Schmiedepressen, mechanische Pressen für die Herstellung von Schmiedeteilen sowie zum Schmieden großer Wellen
• Gesenkschmieden in Form von Hammerschmieden, Schmiedepressen, mechanische Pressen im geschlossenen Gesenk oder im offenen Gesenk, z. B. für die Herstellung von Schmiedeteilen für die Automobilindustrie

Warmwalzprozesse
• Flachwalzen von Bramme, Block, Grobblech, Blech im Rahmen einer Warmumformung oder Halbwarmumformung
• Längswalzen mit Kalibern von Draht Draht, Stab, Schiene, Profile, reversierendes Walzen, Rohrwalzen (nahtlos), Richten im Rahmen einer Warmumformung, Halbwarmumformung oder durch Kaltwalzen

• Blechumformung
Blechwalzen, Tiefziehen, Kaltwalzen, Biegen, Kanten im Rahmen einer Kaltumformung

• Massive Kaltwalzprozesse
Querwalzen, Gewindewalzen, Walzen von Verzahnungen zur Herstellung von Kugeln, Verbindungselementen, Schrauben, Formteilen

• Rad- und Ringwalzen
Ringwalzen und Radwalzen z. B. zur Herstellung von Radreifen oder Lagerringen

• Schrägwalzprozesse
Schrägwalzen von Stab oder Rohr

• Strangpressprozesse
Strangpressen von Aluprofilen, Simulation inklusive Strangpresswerkzeuge

• Diverse Wärmebehandlungsverfahren, Härteprozesse
Wärmebehandlung in Form von Anlassen, Härten, Abkühlung, Glühbehandlungen

• Berechnungen rund um die Mikrostruktur

Die GMT bietet diese Dienstleistung zur Umformsimulation im plastischen Werkstoffbereich an. Die Werkzeuge werden in Abhängigkeit vom Umformverfahren mit betrachtet. Weitere Umformverfahren von Metallen sind mit Hilfe der FEM-Simulation abbildbar. Sprechen Sie uns gern an!
Warum ist eine exakte, zuverlässige Umformsimulation in der Umformtechnik wichtig?
Mit einer exakten, realitätsnahen FEM-Simulation lassen sich Prozesse auslegen – und zwar ohne das zusätzliche Kosten durch Versuche entstehen. Daher ist eine zuverlässige Abbildung Ihrer Prozesskette im Rahmen der FEM-Simulation von zentraler Bedeutung.